

Institution of Agricultural Technologists & Sahaja Samrudha



(CROPS4HD : Using Diversity : RRA Network)

Jointly present

'Desi Beejotsava'

(Traditional Seed Festival)

and

Exhibition of Desi Seeds, Organic Products, Marketing of Value Added products and Technical Sessions

Date: 14-06-2025 and 15-06-2025

Time: From 10.30 A.M. to 6.30 P.M.

Venue: Dr.H.R.Arakeri Auditorium, Institution of Agricultural Technologists, #15, Queens Road, Bengaluru – 560 052



Inaugural Programme:

Date: 14-06-2025, Saturday, 10.30 A.M. – 11.30 A.M.

Inauguration : Dr.Trilochan Mohapatra,, Chairman, PPV & FR Authority, Gol, New Delhi

Chief Guests: Dr.Suresh, S.V., Vice Chancellor, University of Agricultural Sciences, Bengaluru

Sri.D.S.Ramesh, I.A.S., Director, Department of Horticulture, Bengaluru,

Dr.G.T.Putra, Director, Department of Agriculture, Bengaluru

Dr.Dineshkumar Agarwal, Registrar General, PPV & FR Authority, Gol, New Delhi

Dr. Tushar K. Behara, Director, IIHR, Hesaraghatta, Bengaluru.

Dr.K.G.Anup, Managing Director, Karnataka State Seeds Corporation Ltd. Bengaluru

Sri.Shivanapura Ramesh, President, Sahaja Samrudha,

Smt.Papamma, Beejamatha, Mulbagalu, Kolar

Smt.Namrta Sharma, Senior Team Leader (State Implementation), GIZ-SuATI

Presided by : Dr.A.B.Patil, President, Institution of Agricultural Technologists, Bengaluru

We cordially invite you all

Sri.G.H.Yogesh,
Secretary, IAT, Bengaluru

Sri.G.KrishnaprasadSahaja Samrudha, Mysore

Dr.S.B.YoganandaChairman, Programme sub-committee,

IAT, Bengaluru

and

Managing Committee Members, Institution of Agriultural Technologists, Bengaluru &

Sahaja Samrudha Family

















Date: 14-06-2025, Saturday

Technical Session – I (12.00 Noon – 1.30 P.M.)

Topic -1 Nurturing Seed Heritage:Karnataka's Journey in Seed Conservation

Chairman: Dr.S.Rajendra Prasad, Former Vice Chancellor, UAS, Bengaluru

Speakers: Sri.G.Krishnaprasad, Director, Sahaja Samrudha

Dr.Shankar Langati Plant genome savior awardee, Belagavi Sri.Boregowda, Breeder (Retd.) & Seed Saver, Mandya Dr.Hanumaratti, N.G. Breeder (Retd.), UAS, Dharwad

Smt.Padmvatamma Seed Saver, Periyapatna

LUNCH TIME (1.30 P.M. to 2.30 P.M.)

Technical Session – II (2.30 P.M. – 3.30 P.M.)

Topic -2 Challenges and Opportunities in Traditional Seed Conservation

Chairman: Dr.T.K.Prabhakar Setty, Member, Board of Management, UAS, Bengaluru

Speakers: Sri.Syed Ghani Khan, Plant genome saver, Mandya

Dr.Nagarajappa Adiveppar, Professor, Horticulutre, KSN UAHS, Shivamogga Dr.J.M.Nidagundi, Associate Director of Research, (Cotton Breeder) UAS, Raichur

Technical Sesssion – III (3.30 P.M. – 4.30 P.M.)

Topic -3 Strategies and Importance of Mainstreaming Farmer Varieties

Chairman: **Dr.N.Devakumar**, Former Director of Extension, UAS, Bengaluru

Speakers: Dr. Varaprasad Reddy, RRA Representative, Hyderabad

Smt.Bhagyalakshmi, Wassan, Hyderabad Sri.Anjeneya, Seed Saver and Farmer Breeder

Valedictory Programme (4.30 P.M. to 5.00 P.M.)

Chairman: Dr.S.B.Dandin, Former Vice Chancellor, University of Horticultural Sciences, Bagalkote

Co-Chairmen: Dr.B.D.Biradar, Director of Research, UAS, Dharwad

Dr.Shivaram, Director of Research, UAS, Bengaluru

Participants: Ms.Bibijhan, Community Seed Bank leader

Sri.N.R.Shetty, President, Sahaja Samrudha Organic Producers Company

Dr.K.Ramakrishnappa, Honorary President, Jaivik Krishik Society

Smt.Anita S. Arekal, Member Secretary, Karnataka Biodiversity Board

Date: 15-06-2025, Sunday

<u>Technical Session – Day Two</u>

Guest Lecture (10.00 A.M. to 11.00 A.M.)

Sri.Nagesh Hegde, Environmental Writer, Bengaluru

Seed Knowledge Session – I (11.00 A.M. to 12.00 Noon)

Topic 1: Seed Savers' Experiences in Seed Conservation

Chairman: Dr.Devaraj, Senior Scientist and Head, K.V.K., Davanagere

Speakers: Dr.M.G.Basavanagouda, Scientist (Horti.), K.V.K., Davanagere

Smt.Padmavatamma, Seed Saver, Mysore

Sri.Kalappa, Seed Saver, Mysore

Sri.Kantaraj, Vegetable Seed Saver, Bengaluru

Seed Knowledge Session - II (12.00 Noon to 1.30 P.M)

Topic 2: Establishment and Sustainability of Community Seed Banks

Chairman: Sri.Manju, A.C. Dy.Director of Agriculture, S.P.T.L., Bengaluru

Speakers: Smt.Chaitra Veeraiah, Community Seed Bank, Hire Bendigeri

Smt.Mahadevi, Community Seed Bank, Chikka Jantkal, Gangavati

Sri.Badari, Punarchit, Chamarajanagar

Sri.Baligar, V.R.D.S., Haveri

LUNCH TIME (1.30 P.M. to 2.30 P.M.)

Seed Knowledge Session - III (2.30 P.M. to 3.30 P.M)

Topic 3: Organic Seed Production and Marketing

Chairman: Dr.Madhusudan, Special Officer, Seed Unit, UAS, Bengaluru

Speakers: Sri.Manju, K.S., Manager(Production), Sahaja Seeds,

Dr.Girish, Joint Director of Agriculture., KSSC Ltd., Bengaluru

Dr.Basave gowda, Registrar (Retd.), UAS, Bengaluru Dr.Ullas, Scientist, Krishi Vigyan Kendra, Mudigere

Closing Ceremony - 4.00-5.00 P.M.

Chairman :: Dr.Ashok Dalwai, Chairman, Karantaka State Agriculture Price Commission

Chief Guests: Sri.Satyanarayana Bellary, Padmashree Awardee and Seed Saver

Smt.Kavita Gandhi, Country Director, SWISSAID Sri.Krishnamurthy Belagere, Poet, Tiptur

Moderator: **Dr.S.B.Yogananda**, Chairman, Programme sub-committee, IAT, Benaluru